ACS National Awards

The ACS National Awards: Advancing Chemistry, Supporting Research, and Promoting Chemists


The ACS National Awards program is designed to encourage the advancement of chemistry in all its branches, to support research in chemical science and industry, and to promote the careers of chemists.

Priestley Medal

image of JoAnne Stubbe

JoAnne Stubbe, the Novartis Professor of Chemistry and Biology, emerita, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will receive the 2020 Priestley Medal, the American Chemical Society’s highest honor. View C&EN article.

National Award Recipients & Banquet

Winners of the 2020 National Awards will be honored at the Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, March 24, 2020, in conjunction with the ACS Spring 2020 National Meeting & Exposition in Philadelphia.

Arthur C. Cope Scholars Award recipients will be honored in August 2020 at the fall national meeting in San Francisco.

Nomination Information

The nomination period for the 2021 ACS National Awards closed on November 1, 2019. Thank you to all who participated in the nomination process this year.  

The winners of the 2021 National Awards will be announced in August 2020.  

ACS National Awards Program Contact

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (800)227-5558, ext. 4575


Prized Science
This video series features the work and contributions of recipients who won ACS prizes. Watch, listen, and discover how the chemistry behind ACS’ awards transforms our lives.

Becoming Award Ready Webinar
How do deserving and accomplished chemical scientists from diverse backgrounds become ACS award nominees and potentially winners? This short presentation shares the key aspects of preparing for and creating a successful nomination package for an ACS National Award.

National Awards Office Division Primer
This booklet provides technical divisions with quick access to answers to questions regarding the ACS National Awards Program’s selection and canvassing committee process and the awards banquet and ceremony, as well as how to nominate deserving individuals for national awards.